Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame

The Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame was organized to recognize individuals who have made a significant impact in the sport of hockey in central Massachusetts as a player, coach, official, administrator, as a member of the media, or as a builder in professional, collegiate, high school, or amateur hockey.
The Worcester Sharks recognized the first class of inductees on Saturday, January 22 during the first intermission of the Sharks game.

Brief description of the inaugural class below;
Larz Anderson – the former Larz Anderson built the first ever hockey rink in Worcester at Webster Square providing the first enclosed skating rink in central Massachusetts. He was the owner of the Worcester Warriors (EHL) in the mid 1950’s which paved the way to bring professional hockey to Worcester.
Eddie Bates – a coach in youth sports for 48 years, the former Eddie Bates was nicknamed the Father of Youth Hockey in the United States after he started the first Youth Hockey program in Worcester and it spread throughout the country. He organized North High School’s first hockey team in 1917, and was the former coach of North High School, Worcester Academy, and Holy Cross.
Marvin Degon Sr. – the all-time leading scorer at Worcester State and one of the all-time leading scorers in NCAA Division 3 hockey, Marvin was known for his legendary hard slap shot. He is the father of Marvin Degon Jr. who is currently playing professional hockey in the DEL.
Kelly O’Leary – born in Auburn, MA, Kelly played at Providence College and won four silver medals in the women’s World Ice Hockey Championships (1990,92,94, and 97). Kelly was the final cut from the gold medal winning team for the 1998 Winter Olympics women’s hockey team.
Terry Virtue – The former Worcester IceCats captain and all-time leader in games played with 455, Virtue was a fixture in Worcester for six hockey seasons accumulating 210 points and 1083 penalty minutes. With over 1,100 professional games played, he suited up in five games in the NHL (4 with Boston, 1 with New York Rangers) and is currently the assistant coach with Owen Sound in the OHL.
Scott Young – born in Clinton, MA, Young played 1181 games in the NHL scoring 342 goals and winning the Stanley Cup in 1991 (Pittsburgh) and 1996 (Colorado). The three-time U.S. Olympian played his prep school hockey at St. Mark's School in Southborough and skated with the BU Terriers before turning pro in 1998. He is currently the head coach at St. Mark’s.
“The inaugural class of the Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame spans several generations and all facets of hockey,” said Michael A. Mudd. “The committee would like to thank everyone for their submissions and we look forward to receiving submissions for next year’s class.
Each year, the WHHF Committee (Bill Ballou – Worcester Telegram & Gazette, John Coughlin – current Worcester State hockey assistant coach, Peter Glanville – former Auburn A.D. and varsity hockey head coach, Michael Mudd – President, Worcester Sharks, Arthur Sachse – former youth hockey coach, Supervisor of Off-Ice Officials at Sharks games, Kevin Shea – Sports Director, Charter TV3, and Sherman Whitman ) will review nominations for the upcoming class.
For more information regarding the Worcester Hockey Hall Of Fame please contact the Sharks front office at 508-929-0500 or email [email protected].  
An expanded Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame website will be debuted in the offseason on SharksAHL.com.

  • San Jose Sharks

  • Oakland Ice
  • Worcester Sharks
  • HP Pavilion
  • SVSE
  • SVSE Merchandise
  • SAP
  • Racquet Club
  • Mephis Tennis