Worcester Sharks announce the 2013 Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame Class

Worcester Sharks announce the 2013 Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame Class
2013 class to be inducted before the Sharks game on March 10 at the DCU Center

WORCESTER – Worcester Sharks President Michael A. Mudd announced today that John Coughlin Sr., Dick Lamby, Larry Murphy, and Dave Roy will be inducted as the 2013 class of the Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame.

The Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame was organized to recognize individuals who have made a significant impact in the sport of hockey in central Massachusetts as a player, coach, official, administrator, as a member of the media, or as a builder in professional, collegiate, high school, or amateur hockey.

The Worcester Sharks will recognize the 2013 class of inductees on Sunday, March 10 before the Sharks host the Portland Pirates at 3pm.

Brief description of the 2013 class below;

John Coughlin Sr. – the late John Coughlin Sr. was one of the founding fathers of Worcester Pee-Wee Hockey, the first coach of St. Peter’s High School, and the organizer of varsity hockey at Worcester State where he compiled 140 wins in 15 seasons. Led WSU to three ECAC Division 3 Championships in the 1970’s and his squad set the NCAA national record with 252 goals in just 24 games in 1971-72.

Dick Lamby – Auburn native was the first player born in Central Massachusetts to play in the NHL, making his debut with the St. Louis Blues in 1978. Lamby was a member of the 1976 US Olympic hockey team and the 1978 USA World Championship team. Former ECAC player of the year with Salem State, he later went on to win a national championship with Boston University in 1978.

Larry Murphy – a hockey star at St. Peter’s, Murphy was considered the very first star of the Holy Cross hockey program and wrote the first pages of the Holy Cross record book. Led the Crusaders to three Worcester College Hockey Championships and still holds the record for most goals in a single season with a 45 goal effort in 1969-70.

Dave Roy – spearheaded the formation of the Northboro youth hockey association, inaugurated the hockey program at Algonquin, and was the general manager of the North Star Youth Forum for 15 years. Roy was the head coach of the WPI club hockey team for 13 seasons and led them to a National Championship in 1991. He is a member of the Frank Zamboni H.O.F and the Roy Conference in high school hockey is named after him.

“The 2013 class of the Worcester Hockey Hall of Fame spans several generations and all facets of hockey,” said Mudd. “The committee would like to thank everyone for their submissions and we look forward to honoring these four worthy individuals at the Sharks game on March 10.”

Each year, the WHHF Committee (Bill Ballou – Worcester Telegram & Gazette, John Coughlin – current Worcester State hockey assistant coach, Peter Glanville – former Auburn A.D. and varsity hockey head coach, Michael Mudd – President, Worcester Sharks, Arthur Sachse – former youth hockey coach, Supervisor of Off-Ice Officials at Sharks games, Kevin Shea – Sports Director, Charter TV3, and Sherman Whitman – News Reporter and Host, WCRN) will review nominations for the upcoming class.

For more information regarding the Worcester Hockey Hall Of Fame please contact the Sharks front office at 508-929-0500 or email HallOfFame@SharksAHL.com.


  • St. Vincent Hospital
SSE Affiliates